Sunday, September 2, 2007

Six Nations captures Minto!

The Six Nations Arrows Express defeated the Burnaby Lakers, 19-8, to capture the 2007 Minto Cup championship.

The Arrows Express jumped out to a commanding 8-1 first period lead thanks to the offensive output of Cody Jamieson (6G, 2A), Craig Point (5G) and Shawn Evans (3G, 5A), a trio who dominated play all-game long. Tending on the Lakers side didn't help either, as a few soft goals were let in. Adam Meakes allowed 7 goals on 12 shots, and Goodleaf let in 10 on 36 shots.

The loss was obviously disappointing for the Lakers, who dominated the rest of the year. Burnaby entered the final with a 19-2 regular season record. They had cruized through the West with a 6-1 playoff record, and ran the tables in Minto Cup round-robin play (3-0), including a 10-4 win over Six Nations.

With momentum from their semi-final victory over New Westminster Thursday, however, Six Nations clearly looked the sharper team in the Minto Final. The Arrows Express came to play Saturday, and the Lakers didn't match their intensity. Burnaby did show some life in the third period, scoring four straight to come to within 13-7, but it wasn't enough.

This is the first time since 92 Six Nations has taken home the title, despite four straight trips to the Minto Cup championships. Six Nations lost in the final last year to the Peterborough Lakers.

As a player, the Minto Cup is a championship trophy you only get three cracks at. Jr. players are aged 19 to 21, although some age-up to play as a 17/18 year olds... Burnaby's Alex Gajic was one of those players who ended-up playing four year's of Jr.A lax, with two minto cup rings. He led the Lakers in the final with three goals on the night. Dane Dobbie had two.