Sunday, September 2, 2007

Minto Showcases Feature NLL Stars

Pro Players - Saturday's Minto cup final actually featured a number of stars soon to turn professional, or who already play in the NLL.

For Six Nation's Shawn Evans, it was his second major title this year. Evans also captured the professional National Lacrosse League (NLL) title this year, with the Rochester Knighthawks, who selected him 2nd overall in the 05 NLL Entry Draft.

Getting picked-up in the 07 NLL Entry Draft - held just hours before the start of the final, were a number of others playing in the Minto Final, including two who went Top-5. Craig Point of Six Nations was selected 3rd overall (Boston) and Dane Dobbie of Burnaby was chosen 4th overall (Calgary). Peter McFetridge of Burnaby also went to Calgary, with the 10th overall selection.

Also playing in this year's Minto final were a few guys with college eligibility still left, who too will likely be Top-5 selections in feature NLL Drafts. Six Nation's Cody Jamieson, who won tournament MVP, is headed to powerhouse Syracuse University, along with teammates Kent Squires-Hill and Sid Smith. And, Burnaby's Garret Billings still has eligibility left at the University of Virgina.

Obviously, this year's Minto Cup championship featured some players - as it always does.