Wednesday, July 11, 2012

Canada U-19 National Team, 2012 World Juniors

Good luck to the Canadian Jr National Team at the 2012 World Junior Field Lacrosse Championships in Finland, July 12-21. Representing our nation: #1 M Chad TUTTON #2 M Brian COLE #3 G Brennan DONVILLE #9 A Reily OCONNOR #10 M Jason LINDSAY #11 M Tyler ALBRECHT #12 D Aaron MORONEY #14 M Wesley BERG #15 A Turner EVANS #16 A Reegan COMEAULT #20 M Kyle TROLLEY #21 M Joel TINNEY #22 A Joe FRENCH #23 G Hayden JOHNSTONE #24 D Leo STOUROS #25 M Zach CURRIER #26 D Danny MACDERMOTT #27 A Zack HERREWEYERS #40 M Ian MACKAY #41 A Dan LINTNER #42 D Derek SEARLE #43 M Jesse KING #44 G Ross BOWMAN #45 D Tyler GILLIGAN

July 14 up-date: Canada Lacrosse hands the USA their first ever loss at the World Junior level, defeating the Americans 11-9 in OT during round-robin play (boxscore). The defending champs are now 37-1 all-time at the U-19 international level ('08 championship recap). The Iroquois Nationals are also contenders this year. The 2012 championship game is slated for July 21.

Canadian goal scorers today: @comoslice @DLintner14 @wes_berg @ReillyOConnor9 @Kinger_91 @5tinman21 @Chad_tutton ‪@turnerevans9. Donville w/ 12 saves.

July 21 up-date: USA again shows its heart and overcomes adversity to win its 7th straight ILF World Jr title - no other country has won. Canada and the Iroquois defeated the USA this year in the round robin, but the Americans closed it out, taking the title game 10-8 over the Canadians. Matt  KAVANAGH was tourney MVP, with two goals, four points in both the semi and final (boxscore).

Props to this year's Canadian squad for making history July 14.

All-World Team: A: Reilly O'Connor (Canada), Seth Oakes (Iroquois), Matt Kavanagh* (USA); M: Jesse King (Canada), Lyle Thompson* (Iroquois), Ryan Tucker (USA); D: Leo Stouros (Canada), Danny MacDermott* (Canada), Stephen Jahelka (USA);  Goalie: Warren Hill* (Iroquois) * Outstanding Players